Hanging Fan (2008)

My AnimationMentor shortfilm. I can honestly say this has been the toughest animation I’ve done. I didn’t know Maya as well as I do now, and did the whole thing without using helpful scripts like the Tweenmachine. Also I didn’t know you could isolate Bishop’s arm and head rotation from the torso, so each overlapping polishing was a big pain. I had Justin Barrett as my mentor for the whole 2 classes (Justin Barrett invented the TweenMachine, I’m so ashamed now) and he was very helpful in making my character personality and acting blossom and expand. He suggested things like the way he just stares at his hands before storming out of the door and the arm flicks before falling on the ground. I enjoyed this film so much, and I was so proud of it. Then, being the proud father I was for my creation, I lovingly proceeded to format my disc during a virus outbreak and loose any file that had anything to do with it. Luckily I had finished AM by then, but I wish I had kept a backup to do a rendered version of it. Anyway, such is life. Enjoy.

 

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Animations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

