It occurs to me I’m no Blogger

From the last time I wrote down something here till now, it’s been, what, 3 and a half months?

Sheesh.

But hang with me, people. Things have been changing wildly around here and I rarely find myself with enough time to rumble and write down my thoughts, let alone post things I’ve done… but I’ve done stuff, I swear!

For starters, this Blog used to be just for my work in Animation, but I haven’t really animated much lately, other than some shots I wanted in my reel like the ninja fight and the dragon landing. I have been taking some time to pursue another CG skill I’ve wanted to increase, modelling, so without further due, marvel yourselves at my new Blender modelling section!

No BMW logo because Copyright (nah, it's because I'm lazy)

No BMW logo on the hood because Copyright (nah, it’s because I’m lazy)

I’ve been following the progress of this exciting Open Source 3d program for a while now, but like all the 3d softwares I’ve tried, I quickly discarded it as too difficult, too different from Maya or 3dMax, too much of a hazzle to learn. And so, I never took any time to look into it and see how would a free Open Source 3d application would serve me in any way, till I began realizing this might be a great asset for me as an artist.

Blender has no licence fees, you just download it from the site and install it. It’s very small and undemanding of Gigabytes, unlike Maya, and there’s a huge community of people involved in enriching it with more applications, plug-ins and improvements, since it’s, well, Open Source. You can program it to be what you want it to be, use it to create video games, films, tv shows and whatnot. So in my personal search for a way to create my own stories, it started to make more sense as an asset than as a waste of brainpower. Plus, everyone who uses it says it’s fun and intuitive, simple and easy to manage. There’s tons of short cuts, paths to make the same thing and layout personalizations, so you can mould it to your needs, instead of adjusting yourself to it. Because of all these reasons, and a probable convenience in learning a free software that is powerful enough to be considered by studios who are already losing money and spending thousands in Maya licences, I began my personal incursion into Blender, and modelling in Blender.

This first car above was the result of a tutorial I found on Youtube. From that point, I did a couple other small ones on simple polygon modelling and learning of the most common key short cuts (Blender is very fast to use if you know the short cuts, like Maya). I didn’t model the interiors, since I was more into making something simple and getting it done. My next project would be, let’s say, a bit more ambitious.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

