The YF-19: First Baby Steps

Having gone through a couple of tutorials on Youtube about how to set up a scene for modelling something, I did a painstaking amount of refined drawing and tracing for the blueprint materials I found. I had to start with a shape I was most excited about, and since the YF-19 is a fictional plane, there’s not really a single blueprint that works for all. There are slight variations and shape changes, especially for the toys, since they have a plastic width and several problems when becoming a robot that the artists for the movie simply omitted or sent to the realm of “Anime Magic”. So if I was to model a “final” version of this plane, as close as possible to what the real thing would be in a real context, I had to start up with something. The Hasegawa scale model seemed like the better choice, I loved the shape and contour of it, the slimness and sharp angles, and also it was very widely detailed and riveted, you could tell each panel from the other one; something you can’t see in the cartoon.

Turns out there are different variations I had no idea about

Turns out there are different variations I had no idea about

After choosing precisely what views were the most eloquent with each other, I formed a basic viewport and started creating the nose shape, while still digesting the most of what Youtube had to say about Blender. I took this snapshot on July 28, which is my birthday! This shows how committed I was to this new project, I had to model and take snapshots instead of eating cake or whatever people do on their birthdays.

0728

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

