The YF-19: Some Close-ups

Since my cousin asked for them, I made some quick screens on the panels of the plane up close:

Sept 6 - upper panels for fuselage and shield

Sept 6 – upper panels for fuselage and shield

The way I’ve been cutting these panels from the mesh has been basically, start with the whole section, then subdivide and cut it, add as many vertexes as i need to sharpen the edges between the panels when smoothing the whole thing, and so on. Since my cousin is a programmer, he wanted to know how many polygons the plane had already. I looked at the Blender info section and quickly responded: 120,000!…. Whoa….

120,000 polys.

“So, would that be too much for a videogame?”, I innocently asked. “Yup”, was his short answer.

“Cool, not that I wanted to have this plane loaded into a videogame”, I quickly thought to myself. But that’d be cool. Anyway, here’s a close-up without the smoothing.

0906-3I’m guessing it wouldn’t be that hard, right? to get rid of all those cuts in the panels to reduce the poly number if I ever wanted to export this into a videogame… right?

Right?

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

