The YF-19: Wings

My modelling process continued fast and strong, there was ne pas stopping of moi! Once I got to the wings, I started realizing I had a very good understanding of what flight surfaces do, even though I’ve never been close to a fighter jet, but I could tell those lines on the front of the wings were the slats, and those panels seemed to be airbrakes like the ones on the wings of the F-14 Tomcat (my favorite real-life plane).

f14-detail-speedbrake-02xlI love moving surfaces on wings, they remind me of the way birds change the shape of theirs to slow down, lift on an upstream, turn using their tail feathers and speed up down a dive. It makes a plane feel organic and flexible, almost alive. And since this one also becomes an anthropomorphic nuclear-powered mecha, then it’s a win-win to add more moving things to it.

Oct 28 - Wing main shape done

August 28 – Wing main shape done

Oct 31 - Slats, flaps and airbrake panels cut

August 31 – Slats, flaps and airbrake panels cut

I’m almost dreaming about seeing her on the last final approach on a runway, slats and flaps fully down, airbrakes extended and a graceful faint screech as this multi-ton thermonuclear mechanical beast softly lands down. Those little dreams I keep having give me all sorts of ideas on what to do with my model once it’s textured, rigged and ready for animation. But first, we gotta finish some modelling.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

