The YF-19: Ejection Seat

I followed the toy pictures to start the first basic draft of the robot’s head and position it in the middle of the plane.

October 30 - basic head modelling

October 30 – basic head modelling

Up to this point, everything I had modelled for this project came from very reliable Hasegawa blueprints and pictures of that same actual model assembled and shot from lots of different angles, so this was the first time I had to model something while making sense of the inconsistencies of each version.

vf-19-cockpit

Straps? on top of the seat?

Straps? on top of the seat?

I was mainly influenced for the ejection seat by the anime, which presented a few angles that I wouldn’t otherwise guess about, and this amazing realistic rendition of the cockpit, which has actually become my texturing and colour target once the panels are bump-mapped:

My personal wallpaper for months

My personal wallpaper for months.

Still, this is what Shoji Kawamori thought the seat would look like, and by trying to be as close as possible to the source idea, I went on to model something along those lines, while preserving the features that were more present in the film.

yf-19-cockpit-externalSo the first stages of modelling began while making a couple of necessary poetic translations on things that wouldn’t make much sense and that will probably have some function that I don’t know a cheese of.

1108The cockpit interior design is amazing because it’s almost non-existent. Glass screens project the outside of the plane, creating a full immersion-like virtual environment. No idea where the cameras are physically located (I once thought they were in the rhomboidal openings in the nose but that doesn’t make much sense since it has two on top and there’s no screen above the pilot, plus I think they’re supposed to be manoeuvring thrusters); but this concept is my favourite part of the plane – as well as the forward swept wing design.

November 3 - Main Cockpit console and screen dispositions

November 3 – Main Cockpit console and screen dispositions

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

