The YF-19: Fuselage divisions

Here is when the fun began: The Arcadia toy which I am basing myself with for the transformation into a robot is different from the Hasegawa scale model I used for the modelling of the actual plane.

Ds6.nuKDg1EhzjJ5VnCYWw22The difference is very slight but noticeable enough to make several decisions. For once, I love the Hasegawa plane shape and slimness, so I wanted to give that a priority over the mecha functionality. But I know there’s a lot of anime magic going on here to fit parts properly and to assemble things like the chest and the cockpit going under the space of the same fuselage that is clearly smaller than the canopy glass.

That means I was going to model a plane and then use my best judgement to get as close as possible to the robot result. Good thing is, I don’t consider the yf-19 Battroid pretty. So if it looks a bit uglier than the cartoon, that’s fine with me, as long as I get to keep the beautiful plane version.

October 6: Cutting parts out

October 6: Cutting parts out

Now that I knew more about the edge crease ways to make sharp edges and borders without filling everything with polys, this separating and dividing process was easy enough. The plane would look smooth and slim like I wanted it, and while assembling itself I would make ingenious changes to the Arcadia transformation process to fit things like the longer and thinner neck of the plane, the thinner chest and the substantially wider cockpit shape.

1006-4Here is a view of the polys so far. I’m proud of the efficiency on this second time! It’s definitely going to be a hi-poly result at the end, since I’m going for detail and preciseness, but it will be the shortest amount of polys I can think of in the process. At least that’s the plan. Time will tell, I guess.

1006-5

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

