The YF-19: Did I just save it?

This was a fun incident: I added some resolution to the front panel of the nose landing gear, and saved the work. Then I thought, I wonder how it looks with the panels opened, so I opened the mesh manually, without any controllers (since I have no idea how to do that yet) and rotated freely the controls from the orthographic perspective view to kind of match the open position. I usually did that to do things like experimenting with the GERWALK or try moving the flaps up and down, I just don’t save it when I close it. I did my renders, all nice and good, but it was late; so I hurriedly started shutting off lights around the house, and closed Blender…. not before saving it again.

November 29 - Front panel detail

November 29 – Front panel detail

So I saved that random modification on top of the good file with the panels neatly closed. “Would it be hard to get that back with no controller or orientation reference?”, I thought to myself while I went to bed. Yup, it was.

November 30 - Pretty much just putting these panels back

November 30 – Pretty much just putting these panels back

About an hour later I managed to rotate them back to their position by eye-measuring the rotation from the orthographic perspective and trying not to go too far away until they closed. Yup, this was a lesson on how much I don’t know about Blender, there should be a lot of ways to do this easily and even numerically. Guess the time to get into more tutorials is coming.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

