The YF-19: Rear Landing Gear

I had a very productive week rigging the rear landing gear! I am slowly, but surely, becoming better at problem-solving the little things that come up. Though I’m still miles behind anyone who rigs something for a living, the experience has been proving to be great so far! Among the things I learned this week were: How to setup a basic driver for bones to rotate following a controller, how to limit the rotation of bones and how to use the IK to make a landing gear bend on itself and cram in a little box-space in the weirdest way.

January 26 - Intake covers rigged

January 26 – Intake covers rigged

Intake covers opened

Intake covers opened

When I started rigging the rear landing bay doors, I decided I would make use of the piston rigging tutorials I did, so I came up with a much more realistic way to open them (with its own mind-bending hours when the whole thing couldn’t move anymore without skewing, but I solved it in the end by redoing the parent hierarchy)

January 29 - Rear landing bay door rig

January 29 – Rear landing bay door rig

150129-2

January 31 - Rear landing gear open sequence

January 31 – Rear landing gear open sequence

But to be able to show the way it opens, I decided to leave the computer alone for a couple of hours and watch Kung Fu Panda 2 on TV while it rendered. Here’s what came out:

Next step: Now that I (kinda) understand how to make basic piston mechanisms for opening and closing stuff, I’ll quickly move on to rig the wings’ flaps, slats and ailerons, the canard wings, rudders and airbrakes, the cockpit opening and closing and the feet/exhaust articulations. From that point on, it’s a mystery, since there’s not much info on how does this thing become a robot, but at least the plane part would be finished. Yay!

 

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

