The YF-19: Some housecleaning

I have questions.

Why do the bones keep popping back when I made a pose change? What’s the right hierarchy? Is it bones over geometry? All geometry stacked together in a group and the bones take care of them independently, or is it each geo parented to each set of bones so there’s some continuity? How do you smooth all the objects, not just the ones you select, because maybe I want to switch between a proxy mode and a hi-res mode without going on each of them and turning on/off the smooth value? How do you create sliders? How do you switch from IK to FK? Why does the geometry flip when I rotate the bone past a certain angle?

Sigh. Like I said, I have questions that come from more questions, that in turn create more questions.

I guess that’s the result of learning something brand new, with no prior experience to back it up or corroborate it. I’m new to this rigging thing, and it gets frustrating when I can’t get past a point because I don’t know how to do certain thing, so then I look for information and I end up with 20x more questions. It’s frustrating, but oh boy has it been enlightening.

February 24 - A rigging tutorial by Blender Cookie

February 24 – A rigging tutorial by Blender Cookie

While I’m still stuck in figuring out the what, why, who and huh? of rigging, I started doing a bit of housecleaning with the geometry names. Dividing the pieces that would rotate independently, the wing surfaces, the engine moving pieces, and getting them names that would make sense once I’m doing all the constraining to the bones. Then off to finding a better way to make controllers for those bones, since I have the feeling someone already figured this out, and there’s a nice simple tutorial about it somewhere. This makes my life a lot easier.

150223

150223-5

So no much of an update this week. I’ll get back to you when there’s something functional to show, which might involve first figuring out the three transformation stages and the right controllers, before getting the grey-box version out and into the unknown realm of texturing.

Oh boy!

150220_3

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

