B Happy: 10 Years Animating

I just realized it’s been 10 years since I graduated from University and finished my first animation short film, B Happy (2005). Wow.

A logistic nightmare. An organization hell. A mind-boggling amount of hours behind computers, late night sprees, virus infections. Me and Alicia and Mely and Diana, the four people behind this project, constantly remodelling, retexturing, shouting in anger when Animation:Master crashed or failed to load the latest file iteration. Then, on the last months before delivery, me and my computer in my bedroom at late night, with an Excel spreadsheet pasted on my wall to keep track of the pendants, immersed in this new trance of animating.

I could write a full review of this project (I might, in the future), dissecting second after second of it while laughing out loud, explaining what was I thinking about when doing this or that. And that song… oh god. It’s engraved in my brain forever. When it comes up in VH1 or a car insurance commercial on TV, I can’t think of good ol’ Bobby McFerrin, or even Robin Williams in the music video. I think of this film.

This film was my first accomplishment in animation, and I am proud of it. Not because of the quality, mind you, but of the result of creating the whole shabang in CG, from modelling, texturing, rigging, character and particle animation, post-production, audio, editing… I had fun with this film. I got angry at this film. I wanted to finish it so badly. I didn’t want it to end, ever.

A lot has changed in me since 2005, and definitely will in the next 10 years. 2025’s Eduardo will be so different from the 2015 version, that I might write another post in 10 years talking about how much I sucked at animating anything back then, and show something similar to B Happy. I’ll still be proud of it, though.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Animations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

