Blender human rig – Completed

Finally, my latest rig is complete. This is the biggest, most ambitious rig I’ve ever made (especially since I’m not a rigger by any means) and I learned heaps once again. This was pure gold in terms of new knowledge and skills. I learned how to make a competent spine rig that rotates smoothly with few controllers, an isolate rotation system for the arms and head in FK, a great way to make the foot roll on its toes and pivot on the heel at the same time for walking, and even a way to change the pivot of the body so you can make the character walk on its hands or hang from the upper torso and still be able to rotate the spine without counter-animating. Also, I learned a bit about weight painting for the body to bend following the armature.

The tutorial I followed, from Blender.org’s Ton Roosendaal, was incredible, simple, easy to follow and fun. I highly recommend it.

Now I’ve foolishly decided I have enough experience and knowledge with these latest tutorials to be able to complete the rig of my YF-19 once and for all. I know how to make actions that transform into sliders, so the transformation can be animated easily, I understand the basics of a biped figure so it can tranform into a robot with IK/FK options, I can rig the fingers using the same method of creating a bend action and linking it to the scale value of the controller, so it’s just one controller per finger, and I think I understand the whole mechanics of creating a single armature for the whole plane and link the geometry using vertex groups, instead of a collection of objects independent from each other. With all this said, let’s see what the future holds. I might come back soon with a lot to whine about 🙂

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Animations, Blender Modelling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

