The YF-19: Gimme A Hand Son, Will Ya?

This week I spent it fixing small issues with the arms and figuring out how to make the arm get into the right socket when it transforms, but be away from it when it’s in plane mode so the position of the parts is still correct. I used a constraint that copies the rotation and position of another bone that is in the right socket place, and I’ll just animate this constraint on during the transformation action mode. At least, that’s the plan.

Also, I found the arms a bit too skinny and feeble, so I started increasing the width to make them beefier while still in the boundaries of the shoulder plate and the rest of the parts so they don’t intersect. It’s a bit of pull and push at this point, but I think they look better now.

May 20 - Increased the width of the arms

May 20 – Increased the width of the arms

150520-2

May 21 - Finished the socket constraints and made the shoulder plates rotate with the arms automatically

May 21 – Finished the socket constraints and made the shoulder plates rotate with the arms automatically

So I kept on and tried figuring out exactly how does the hand looks like. I’m going with a realistic approach so the hands are not going to look cartoony or glove-like. They will be a set of hard surface parts that move around fixed sockets, like a skeleton hand. The basic shape of the hand is the only thing I could figure out from the drawings and photos, so the rest was a bit of copying the shape of the fingers and a bit of making things up, since there’s not enough info. But I think it looks nice!

May 22 - Started the basic shape of the hand

May 22 – Started the basic shape of the hand

May 24 - Hand finished

May 24 – Hand finished

150524-2

May 25 - Beginning the rigging of the hand

May 25 – Beginning the rigging of the hand

After the hand is properly rigged, I’ll be creating a small video to show all these things transforming. I think that’s the basic part of the arms so I can start completing the feet rig.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

