The YF-19: Transformation galore

I’ve been slowly assembling the mechanics for the transformation into the Battroid and GERWALK mode, creating the action constraints for the chest and torso, duplicating the arm and leg bones to make the FK and IK version, and slowly understanding what’s the best way to make this work. For starters, I positioned each part of the plane to the robot configuration and squashed those parts together to make the shape as closer as possible to the anime.

150511-3150605

You can see the big difference from the beginning of the transformations attempts back in May to this latest version. The torso is more compact and sturdy, short and closer to the cartoon.

yf-19-battroid

June 5 - Torso transformation - also i decided to stop torturing my visitors with a huge watermark all over the nice details

June 5 – Torso transformation – also I decided to stop torturing my visitors with a huge watermark all over the nice details

150605-3

Of course the logistics to make this work were, well, insane. I had to rotate and counterrotate things, slowly and patiently while keeping things from intersecting each other, also the “backpack” has to conceal the canopy and that couldn’t be done with the shape of the canopy vs the shape and size of the backpack, so I came up with sliding panels that come out and lock the pilot safely, while not intersecting the plane when they’re out. Also the design for the crotch changed to be closer to the toy, but since the guns were already there and couldn’t intersect without moving everything and missing the shape, I came up with a system to separate the crotch plate in three parts. That’s right, I’m MichaelBayTransforming the hell outta this girl.

150605-2

Then I started animating the whole thing to become this, while avoiding intersections, weird movements and things like that. I’m still gonna wait till I get the legs and arms right to make that promised video of the transformation mechanics. Just be a bit more patient!

Wing separation blocking

Wing separation blocking

June 8 - GERWALK IK for the legs finished

June 8 – GERWALK IK for the legs finished

These many bones and counting!

These many bones and counting!

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

