The YF-19: Fuselage Paneling

During these past two weeks I’ve been tweaking and refining the paneling of the plane mode, while starting to work out the specular map. I’m positive I need to take that shader tutorial now, to be able to make this look as I’m intending it: Hi-tech metallic base, dirty from the abuse testing of an experimental plane, filled with small indications of things like dents, corrosion, planet re-entries and the inclement sun and weather stress from planet Eden.

For example, this shot from the movie shows the reflectiveness of the fuselage, and a bit of the right colour:

macross-plus-isamu-yf-19-love

September 26 - tweaking the fuselage material

September 26 – tweaking the fuselage material

Having understood the normal map logic, I can make those panels stand out correctly, and with the model kit in my hands I spent the rest of the week carving out the rest of the body.

150926

150926-3

To do the wings, I slowly carved out the lines and kept making renders at the same time to define them.

September 29 - wing paneling

September 29 – wing paneling

I kinda like how this plane looks in gray metallic mode.

150929-3

150929-2

150929-5

September 30 - bottom of wings paneled

September 30 – bottom of wings paneled

I also started doing the rudders, lower winglets and shoulders.

150930-3

150930-2

Back to fuselage colour, I added some more detail to the angle of attack border of the wings, while finishing up the legs, shield and intakes. I made a specular map with simple gray levels, but it didn’t result in the reflectiveness I was looking for. Some more tweaking…

October 2 - Refining panels

October 2 – Refining panels

151002

A bit of shading tests on the cockpit panels to show a bit of the wind “draggy” effect on the panels, and some of them looking darker or less reflective. To achieve the right photorealistic effect on the fuselage, though, I need to look at a lot of pictures and try to reproduce it with brushes. Or to simply paste stamp them, still not sure if this is gonna be a “fully hand-painted” texture or not.

Testing the hi-speed configuration

Testing the hi-speed configuration

And because it’s been a while since I play with lights, a small render I did to try and get a wallpaper of it soon (once I’m done texturing the fuselage and adding all the tons of labels)

October 3 - test with afterburner lights

October 3 – test with afterburner lights

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

