The YF-19: Some Renders

Right now, each 800×600 render is taking my ever-aging laptop 30 minutes at least. Which is why, this week I’ve only been able to make a bunch of renders and that was it. Mostly, this week was about fixing small issues with the labels and refining the specular and diffuse maps, and then setting lights, tweaking the metal materials a bit more, realizing I still don’t know enough about shaders, run another render, think I need to watch some tutorials and then running another render with a different light source… ad infinitum.

Loving these renders though!

October 20 - with area light and double shader for the fuselage

October 20 – with area light and double shader for the fuselage

151020-3

October 21 - Small Easter Egg: According to the YF-19 specs, the engines are thermonuclear. So I added a warning sign and the logo of the International Nuclear Association

October 21 – Small Easter Egg: According to the YF-19 specs, the engines are thermonuclear. So I added a warning sign and the logo of the International Nuclear Association

October 22 - Testing the Battroid with a change in light

October 22 – Testing the Battroid with a change in light

151022-2

GERWALK mode

GERWALK mode

151023

October 23 - Closeup with tweaking in panel shadows

October 23 – Closeup with tweaking in panel shadows

151023-3

I’m gonna now take a small hiatus on the project – I realized I can’t go much further without really understanding shaders, lighting and rendering, and how to texture the rest more efficiently. The hidden mechanisms need a lot of work too. So I’ll go back to Blender school and be back with updates soon!

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

