The YF-19: Shaders and Lights

This weeks it’s all been about learning shaders and a bit of lighting, so not much updates on the plane.

I did some improvements to the mechanical parts that are usually hidden until the YF-19 transforms, and inbetween I started figuring out some of those connections in terms of what the hell are they gonna be made of. I had a small thing I didn’t work in that I had to add before that, though: The wings fold to the side and hang attached to the legs when it’s in Battroid mode, but there was nothing attached there that would make sense of the connection. So I modeled and rigged a half ring piece that rotates and slides forward and backward for it.

October 24 - Wing connections to the legs

October 24 – Wing connections to the legs

The chest area had other hidden things like those red and black stripes that you can only see in this mode. So I did a bit of work there while improving on the specular maps and small bits here and there.

October 25 - Chest internal colours

October 25 – Chest internal colours

151025-2

There’s plenty of work to do in those things, and since I don’t have a specific reference to follow I can pretty much just make up something there. In the meantime, I started learning more about shaders.

October 27 - Full plane render with updated diffuse map

October 27 – Full body render with updated diffuse map

Shaders: Car chrome, chrome, dark metal, skin

Shaders: Car chrome, chrome, dark metal, skin

Shaders: Resin, anisotropic stainless steel

Shaders: Resin, anisotropic stainless steel

In the meantime I learned more about anisotropic metals and materials, about the fresnel node, the existence of HDRI environment maps (MY LIFE IS NOW COMPLETE) and some funny bits about shaders in Blender I didn’t know about. I’m still learning more on this, plus the lighting and rendering part which will mean more renders in the future, but in the meantime I’m slowly updating textures as well.

October 27 - Rear landing bay diffuse map

October 27 – Rear landing bay diffuse map

November 1 - Front landing bay diffuse map

November 1 – Front landing bay diffuse map

November 2 - Front landing bay specular, normal and diffuse map update

November 2 – Front landing bay specular, normal and diffuse map update

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

