Blender – Car paint

I just came back from holidays so this week I’ve only been slowly getting back to the habit of sitting in front of a computer. Man, just a week of not doing that is enough to make me loose the habit quickly. Walking on the sand of a beautiful beach or sitting in front of a porch reading my Kindle and sipping tea is an easier habit to get in the span of a week than years of staring at a screen.

Anyway, not much update on the YF-19, I’ve been watching some tutorials on shading and rendering, though. This morning while watching one of them I even had an A-HA! moment with the caustics and their relation to the haunting firefly problem I keep getting. I’ll do a post soon about it.

I wanted to learn more about how to make a convincing car paint shader, not really because the YF-19 needs it, but because I wanted to figure it out better and also because the Node Editor in Blender is becoming a fun place to be around. I’m starting to like it, and in all honesty, it’s been more entertaining to me than the uv-mapping and texturing process. I find myself wanting to finish it already and jump into other things.

carpaint_test

From a car paint and lighting tutorial on Youtube

carpaint1

carpaint2

The car is not mine, it belongs to Conner Addison, who made this fantastic tutorial. Among the things I also learned: How to make an RGB picker that allows you to easily choose and change a colour, how to make convincing tail lights, how to make transparent windows that look transparent but they aren’t (if you happen to have a missing interior) and a bit more about good lights that I’ll use for the future renders of the Macross bird.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

