The YF-19: Bringing It On

The year 2015 ended with me having a fantastic holiday and time off the routine of computer/bed/computer, so I’m now back to get into the project and kick in other things, like my new animation reel.

So this weeks I’ve only managed to fix small things and keep messing with the shaders. I took a couple of tutorials on tips and techniques in Photoshop, and it now looks better. My lighting techniques need some more polishing but I’m ready to UV map and texture the cockpit and start playing with the texture video to make the VR glass screen effect.

151211-3

December 11 – Reflectivity in fuselage updated

151211-5

I attempted to lower the render time by lowering the resolution of the textures and it didn’t work, so I just went back to the hi-res.

151214

December 14 – Landing gear texturing begins

151214-2

151217

December 17 – Specular map update and a bit of water effect for the ground

151217-2

151218

December 18 – Dirt map updated

151222

December 22 – Cockpit glass shader tests

The glass shader is such a nuisance. Either it acts like a mirror and you can’t see a thing, or it doesn’t reflect any light and looks dull and uninteresting. I tried using the Blender glass shader and ended up doing a mashup of transparency and reflectiveness to achieve a better result.

151222-2

151222-3.jpg

151229

December 29 – Shaders for inner mechanisms updated

wall_151218

wall151222

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling, The YF-19 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

