Blender Human – Face Topology

Topology should be renamed to ‘Nopeology’.

170214

The fun trying to sculpt continued. I reached a point where I was fairly happy with the outcome.

170203

February 3 – Refining face

170203-2

More refining.

163

By this point I was also learning a lot about muscles and how they connected the different parts of the skull to create the different planes of the face, so I decided to try it out and make something like that by sculpting it.

170203-5

February 3 – Muscle sculpt

I began with a skull shape and then using the clay modelling tool, added layer upon layer of stuff to create the nose and the lips. That gave me the idea to actually create the skull by modelling it with polys, then make the muscles and then fuse the whole thing into one piece that I could soften and sculpt the facial features from.

170211

February 11 – Skull modeled

So I modeled and sculpted a skull using a reference from Google images, and then started placing the main muscles to form the face.

170213

February 13 – First pass of facial muscles

170215-2

February 15 – Finishing the facial muscles and adding the nose

170215-3

170217

February 17 – Merging into one piece to sculpt

The experiment didn’t pan out as I planned, mainly because it wasn’t just a matter of merging the whole set of pieces into one giant boolean object. So I lost a lot of definition around the mouth and for the cheeks. I decided to give it a go anyway, and began a retopology after cautiously studying the face articulation images from Brian Tindall’s The Art of Moving Points. There are dozens of different face topologies out there, but this one had a lot of sense from the animation and articulation point of view, which is my purpose for Isamu Dyson.

c50ce161a2cd4e0a13862e90d29e332c

170217-2

February 17 – Face topology on top of muscle construction

170217-3

170220

February 20 – Second attempt at retopology

I tried it out once again from an existent OBJ model, and it went completely overboard. Too many polys again. I had to find a way to smart it out and come up with a smaller number. I had become obsessed with finding the correct way to build up a head.

170220-2

You know what they say: If at first you don’t succeed, try again and again and again and again…

The third attempt came out better. Much less polys and a lot cleaner outcome. I was also trying to get the polys to be as even as possible.

170223

February 23 – Fourth attempt at topology

Fourth attempt. I began this one from the nose, being that it was the hardest part to get right. Nope, nope. Blew the flow and got into weird outcome for the lines. So I scratched this one before continuing.

170224

February 24 – Fifth attempt.

Here comes the 5th. Bingo. I got rid of some more polys for the forehead and smoothed out the flow for the nose and mouth. Still not entirely happy with the green span that goes over the nose instead of under, but I didn’t see any problem with that.

I decided to give it a try and get my Isamu reference ready.

isamu_front

isamu_right

This is Noriyoshi Sakai, a Japanese soccer player. He’s 24 years old and half European (his mother is German and his father Japanese). So he’s the perfect candidate for a realistic approach to Isamu Dyson, who happens to be 25 in 2040, when the events of Macross Plus unfold. (Fun fact: he was born on March 2015 so he’s a babbling toddler right now.) Also, being an athlete and all, there’s plenty of photos around of him. Plus, he’s got the stupid confident grin of the Anime.

 

I began creating the topology based on the last success, and slowly carved out the facial features from the photographs.

170227

170227-2

February 27 – Topology flow on the sixth attempt.

So I’ll start cleaning and refining the topology and create the rest of the head, and then we can move on with this.

Because, damn.

About Eduardo

I'm some dude with a huge love for animation and film. I've been working in TV animation for the past 6 years in New Zealand. I love dragons, pointy metal things that can cut dragons, and flight simulators.
This entry was posted in Blender Modelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

